Porto Travel Advice

Porto Travel Advice

All the latest information on the entry requirements for Portugal including the necessary documentation, passport and visas to visit Portugal and Porto.

This article focuses on the necessary documentation you need to travel to Portugal and Porto depending on your nationality

US Citizens

If you are an American citizen travelling to Portugal, you do not need a visa if you plan on staying for less than 90 days. But your passport must be valid for at least six months beyond your stay. 

Australian Citizens

If you are an Australian citizen visiting Portugal or any other party to the Schengen Agreement, you don't need a visa if you stay for less than 90 days. Your passport must have at least six-month validity from the planned return date. 

EU, EEA and Swiss Citizens

As citizens of the European Union and European Economic Area, you will not need a visa to enter Portugal: 

EU member countries

Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Romania and Sweden.

EEA countries

Island, Liechtenstein and Norway. 

Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Portugal

The following countries do not require a visa for visits lasting less than 90 days, but require a valid passport to enter Portugal:

Andorra, Antigua and Bermuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Bosnia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Korea, Macao, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapour, Taiwan, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Other countries

For citizens of countries not previously mentioned, we recommend visiting the Embassy of Portugal in your country or checking Portugal's Schengen Visa Application Requirements: